NM Water & Wastewater Association Awards (updated 5/21)

- 1. Good Housekeeping Awards (8)
- 2. Outstanding Operator of the Year Awards (5)
- 3. John Clark Award (1)
- 4. Charles Caldwelll Award (1)
- 5. Max N. Summerlot Award (1)
- 6. Ted Martinez Lifetime Awards
- 7. Caroline Sanchez Achievement Award (1)
- 8. Section President's Award (6)
- 9. Cynthia Hiers-Robinson Outstanding Instructor of the Year Award (wastewater)
- 10. Doug Roby Outstanding Instructor of the Year Award (water)
- 11. Scholarship Awards (2) "Harold Fox Memorial Scholarship" "Terry Mount Scholarship"
- 12. Special Awards
- 13. NMWWA President's Award

All awards are presented at the Annual School banquet which is held the last week of January in Las Cruces. Following is a breakdown of each award, the selection process, categories, and other information that may help in planning for these awards.

1. "GOOD HOUSEKEEPING" Award:

The Good Housekeeping Awards are presented in eight categories:

- a) Surface Water Treatment System (old & new)
- b) Ground Water Treatment System
- c) Lagoon Wastewater Treatment System
- d) Mechanical Wastewater Treatment System (old & new)
- e) Activated Sludge Wastewater Treatment System (old & new)

Procedure:

- a) The Executive Manager will contact all section presidents around August asking for nominations. Nominations are due by mid September. Each section must conduct their own GHK tour and nominate their best (2) nominations from the above listed categories. The Executive Manager has copies of criteria.
- b) The State GHK Committee will then tour all the facilities nominated. Tour will be done in early October. Awards will be given at the Annual Awards banquet in January.

2." OUTSTANDING OPERATOR OF THE YEAR" Award:

The five categories of awards are:

- 1. Water Production Facility Operator
- 2. Water Distribution System Operator
- 3. Wastewater Collection System Operator
- 4. Wastewater Treatment Facility Operator
- 5. Lab Analyst Facility Operator

Procedure:

- a) Contact sections & other interested parties for nominations: Deadline 11/30.
- b) Committee will select (1) from each category from the nominations received.
- c) The awards have traditionally been plaques.

3. "JOHN CLARK AWARD":

This is an award for outstanding contributions from a long time member of NMWWA. The selection is made by a committee comprised of the last 5 recipients.

Procedure:

- a) Contact past five recipients. The previous year's recipient functions as chairman.
- b) The last recipient has the traveling trophy and presents it along with a plaque.
- (This award is kept secret. His or her spouse is invited to the banquet)

4. "CHARLES CALDWELL AWARD":

This award is presented to a section that has had the highest percentage increase in membership over the year. <u>Procedure:</u> The Executive Manager will tally up the membership, by section.

5." MAX N. SUMMERLOT AWARD":

This award alternates between water and wastewater each year. It is given to the system that demonstrates excellence in the operations, maintenance, management, safety, and professionalism of that system. Criteria can be obtained from the EM. Nominations are solicited along with the GHK award. Nominations are due by mid September. Nominated facilities will be inspected by the GHK tour committee & selection will be made.

6. "TED MARTINEZ LIFETIME MEMBERSHIP AWARD":

Lifetime memberships are presented to members who have been members for 20 years and have been active in both the state & section. Nomination should include an application & score sheet. Confirmation will be made by an Executive Board majority. Submission of nominations should be made by November 1st. A plaque & jacket will be given at the Awards banquet and member will no longer pay membership dues.

7. "CAROLINE SANCHEZ ACHIVEMENT AWARD":

Presented to an individual or facility that best demonstrates a significant or outstanding achievement or accomplishment during that year. An operator through his or her outstanding performance deserves commendation or a facility that has significantly improved has merit for nomination. The awards committee will review the nominations. Nomination may be sent in by a member or by a supervisor. Nominations must be sent in to the EM by November 30th. A traveling plaque & another plaque will be granted.

8." SECTION'S PRESIDENT MOST IMPROVED FACILITY AWARD":

Presented to a water or wastewater facility that has demonstrated significant improvement during that year. Is selected by that year's Section President and a plaque is awarded at the banquet. Selection needs to be in to the Executive Manager by November $30^{\rm th}$.

- 9. "OUTSTANDING INSTRUCTOR OF THE YEAR": Cynthia Hiers-Robinson (wastewater) & Doug Roby (water). Two awards are presented to 2 instructors that have demonstrated excellence in teaching at the three major schools.
- 10. "SCHOLARSHIP AWARDS" (2) Named after Harold Fox & Terry Mount. Get applications by November 25th from the DACC Water Technology Students. Set up committee to go over applications and contact recipients to attend Annual Banquet to pick up their \$750 scholarship.
- 11.SPECIAL AWARD Consists of a "Certificate of Appreciation" or a plaque.
- 12. "NMWWA PRESIDENT'S AWARD" A plaque is presented to the past president.